UPCOMING EVENTS

March

26 Friday & 27 Saturday **Festival for Creative Pianists**

www.pianofestival.org

Friday at 7:30 pm Judges/Directors Recital

Saturday at 7:30 pm Winners Recital

April

2 Friday · 7:30 pm **Percussion Ensemble** Recital Hall

6 Tuesday & 7 Wednesday \cdot

7:30 pm

Chamber Choir

Recital Hall

10 Saturday · 4:00 pm

Trumpet Fest final concert Recital Hall

12 Monday · 7:30 pm
Faculty Woodwind Quintet

Recital Hall

20 Tuesday · 7:30 pm **Women's Choir** Recital Hall 22 Thursday · 7:30 pm Student Chamber Ensembles

Recital Hall

23 Friday · 7:30 pm **Rhonda Larson, flute**Guest Artist Recital

Recital Hall

24 Saturday · 4:00 pm

Flute Day final concert Recital Hall

26 Monday · 7:30 pm **Jazz Ensemble** Robinson Theatre

29 Thursday · 7:30 pm **Grand Valley Brass** Robinson Theatre

May

4 Tuesday · 7:30 pm **Symphony Orchestra** Robinson Theatre

7 Friday · 7:30 pm

Wind Symphony Robinson

Theatre

CALL THE BOX OFFICE AT 970.248.1604

MESA STATE COLLEGE GRAND JUNCTION, COLORADO

MUSIC DEPARTMENT | 2009-2010 SEASON

MESA STATE COLLEGE WIND SYMPHONY AND JAZZ ENSEMBLE

GUEST ARTIST JOHN SALMON, PIANO

THURSDAY, MARCH 25 | 7:30 PM ROBINSON THEATRE AT MOSS PERFORMING ARTS CENTER



- PROGRAM -

MSC Wind Symphony Dr. Calvin Hofer, conductor

Abiquiu (2009) **David Gillingham** Composed for the Mesa State Wind Symphony (b. 1947) Based on a poem of the same name, by MSC English teacher, Luis Lopez

Tomohiro Tatebe Suite on Celtic Folk Songs (2001) (b. 1957)

March

II. Air III. Reel

Song for Lyndsay (2005) Andrew Boysen

Aurora Awakes (2009) John Mackey (b. 1973)

- INTERMISSION -

MSC Jazz Ensemble Dr. Darin Kamstra, director **Featuring John Salmon, piano**

Hickory & Twine Alan Baylock

> Chandra Toyama, alto saxophone Benjamin McLam, piano Tristan Delahanty, trombone

Dizzy Gillespie, Walter Gil Fuller, Manteca

and Luciano Pozo Gonazales arr. Mike Tomaro

Tyler Hardwick, tenor saxophone

Doodlin' Horace Silver

arr. John LaBarbera

John Salmon, piano

Tyler Hardwick, tenor saxophone

Bill Dobbins Elegy

John Salmon, piano

Bluezies **Shorty Rogers**

> Jeremy Ellison, trumpet Taylor Reiners, trombone Tyler Hardwick, tenor saxophone Lynnsey Lambrecht, baritone saxophone Chandra Tovama, alto saxophone John Salmon, piano

- ABOUT THE GUEST ARTIST -

John Salmon is the perennial judge for the MSC annual Festival for Creative Pianists. He will perform again tomorrow evening at 7:30 pm in the Recital Hall for the opening concert of the piano festival. Dr. Salmon holds B.M. and B.A. (philosophy) degrees from Texas Christian University, the "Solistendiplom" from the Freiburg Hochschule für Musik, an M.M. from the Juilliard School, and a D.M.A. from the University of Texas-Austin. His awards include a fellowship from the Beethoven Foundation (now the American Pianists Association), the Premio Laén, the Loren Eiseley Memorial Award from the University of Maryland Piano Competition, and the Gina Bachauer Memorial Award from Juilliard. Salmon performs internationally and has recorded for Radio Suisse Romande, RAI Italian Radio, Spanish National Radio, Canadian Broadcasting Corp., WFMT Radio in Chicago, C-Span and PBS television. Salmon is also active as a jazz pianist and has released CDs of the music of the legendary Dave Brubeck. He is founder and former director of the annual "Focus on Piano Literature" symposium at the University of North Carolina-Greensboro, where he is Professor of Piano.



- PERSONNEL -**MSC Jazz Ensemble**

Saxophones Chandra Toyama, alto Kristyn Pults, alto Tyler Hardwick, tenor Kyle Thompson, tenor Lynnsey Lambrecht, baritone

> Trumpets Jeremy Ellison Daniel Kell Daniel Ohlson **Andrew West Anton Neff**

Trombones **Tristan Delahanty Taylor Reiners** Sean Flanigan+ Drew Fairfield, bass

Rhythm Section Benjamin McLam, piano Ryan Wilson, bass Aprÿl Ott, drums

+MSC Faculty



TACO BELL SUPPORTS MESA STATE Performing Arts

Visit our four Grand Valley locations

736 Horizon Dr • 850 North Ave Mesa Mall • Clifton • Fruita

- PERSONNEL -**MSC Wind Symphony**

Flute/Piccolo Horn Jeremy Ellison Sarah Strong Katherine Doak James Toyama Britni Bryan Chris Arroyo Diana Musselman Sadie Bernhardt

Elizabeth Wolnv **Heather Zobel**

Trumpet Daniel Kell Oboe Anton Neff

Lyndi Hoffman Rachel Hardinger Katie Lawson Willie Walsh **Andrew West**

Bassoon Stephen McCarty

Francisco Castaneda Trombone

Taylor Reiners Clarinet Ryan Wilson Ryan Hall **Brittany Wood**

Brianna Dalgart Megan Koepke

Bass Trombone Laura Schroeder **Drew Fairfield** Adam Ballif

Euphonium **Bass Clarinet** Tristan Delahanty

Mat Cook Chloe Rael

Tuba Nicholas Brenholz

Contra Alto/Bass Clarinet

James Broxton

Percussion

Ian Elliot

Sarah Kamstra

Morgan Gagliardi Alto Saxophone Kristyn Pults Danny Hurshman Michael Bizer Jack Chipchase **David Tarr**

Tenor Saxophone Dianira Luna

Piano

Apryl Ott

Baritone Saxophone **Doug Morrow** Lynnsey Lambrecht Sadie Bernhardt